Back to Home Page


Edinburgh Chess Congress

George Heriot's School
April 13-15, 2007
report by David Stewart

Numbers went up about 20% from under 220 players last year to 262 players. Premier 49, Challengers 47, Major 67, Bishops 40 and Knights 59.

The Scottish Schools Individual Championships numbers increased by four from 106 to 110 players. The sponsor of the event Keven Henry, Chief Executive of the Association of Certified Public Accountants, visited the venue on Sunday 15 April 2007 and was very impressed. MSP Robin Harper attended the prize giving. (See detailed report)

The increase of numbers in the adult events was from purely from Scottish based players. Chess and Bridge Ltd ran the bookstall by Jim Fisher and quality of the bookstall, including software was excellent.

An excellent team of Arbiters who were all very professional Alex MacFarlane, Simon Gillam, Donald Wilson, Philip Thomas and Jim Wallace.

I would like to thank the members of the Council who helped to set the hall up on Friday 13 April 2007.  George Anderson for taking the entries, preparing the leader boards, pairing cards, table numbers as well as processing the grading results.  Those members of the Council who turned up on Sunday to help with the stewarding.  Eddie Gillespie and Terry Purkins for helping with the prize giving.  Jeremy Hughes and his team on behalf of Chess Scotland for organising the Scottish Schools Individual Championships.


Premier: 1st= George Neave (Edinburgh West), Keith Ruxton (Sandy Bells) 4.5/5pts, £375 each;

Grading Prize U2150:  Hugh Brechin (Edinburgh), Rail Liapin (Poland), Daniel McGowan (Hamilton), Ivan Stokes (Bearsden) 3/5pts, £15 each;

Grading Prize U1950: Andrew Green (Edinburgh) 3/5pts, £50;

U18 Andrew Green (Edinburgh), 3/5pts, £30 Evening News Cup plus a chess book donated by Chess and Bridge Ltd.

Challengers: 1st Ed Perry (Sandy Bells) 4.5/5pts, £150;

2nd= Michael Ash (Edinburgh resident), Chris Sykes (Lasswade), Duncan Walker (Bankton), 4/5pts, £25 each;

Grading Prize: Jonathan Wright (Stonehaven) 4/5pts, £30;

Major: 1st Mark Monaghan (Grangemouth) 4.5/5pts, £150;

2nd= Francis Batchelor (Glenrothes), Stuart Greenwood (Greenwood), Mauro Riccardi (Edinburgh),     4/5 pts £45;

Bishops: 1st Kenneth Aiston (Broxburn) 4.5/5 pts £150;

2nd= Bill Falconer (Wandering Dragons), Bill Harkins (Benarty), Ronald Mackenzie (Bankton) 4/5pts,   £35;

Knights: 1st Brian Bonnyman (Giffnock) 5/5pts £150;

2nd: Norman Grant (Bon Accord) 4.5/5pts, £70;

Grading Prize U1100: Jez Ippolito (Sandy Bells) 4/5pts £30;

Grading Prize U1000: Lewis Montgomery (Bankton) 3.5/5pts, £30;

Prize Draw - The winning move Be8;                                                    

£30 Michael Timms (Corstorphine);

Giant Killing Prize: £30 Callum Dickson (Bishopton) 621 defeated David Newton (Inverness) 1150 a grading difference of 529 points.

Blunder or Swindle Prize: £10 Richard Carter (Wandering Dragons) for his two queen blunder against Jonathan Wright (Stonehaven) in the Challengers Event.

Donated and judged by Geoff Chandler of Chandler Cornered at

Best Game Prize: £30 Hugh Brechin (Edinburgh) win against IM Jacob Aagaard (Bearsden) on Board 1 in Round 1. 

Judged by Geoff Chandler of Chandler Cornered at

please click event headers for grading data

Home -   Congress Ads  -  Leagues  -  Grading  -  Chess Scotland Info  -  Schools  - Downloads  -  News  -  Links
Chess Scotland 2007