Back to Home Page

Stewarton Bonnet Guild Chess Allegro 2006

And the Ayrshire Junior Championships

11th June 2006

Organised by Stewarton Chess Club in Association with

the Stewarton Bonnet Guild and the Ayrshire Chess Association


Held on Sunday 11th June 2006 in the Stewarton Annick Youth Centre, Stewarton. It was another great year with 115 people playing on the day. Because of the distractions of both the World Cup in Germany and the good weather over the week before, we were a little concerned when we only had 24 entries a week before the tournament but a flurry of entries sent the final number of players over the hundred mark. Once again we played host to the Ayrshire Junior Championships as part of our tournament and we were happy to send nearly forty players home with a prize from the tournament.

Nearly forty of the entries came from Ayrshire clubs with another fifty from clubs in the Glasgow area. Other players hailed from as far afield as Peterhead and Dunfermline to Campbelltown. There were a number of families who entered with both parents and children playing in the various events. Several groups of school children from Bishopton Primary in Renfrew and from Glebe Primary in Irvine also played in the various events.

The Open section finished with a clear winner Calum MacQueen of Giffnock Chess Club who wins the event for the first time (but hopefully not the last). Second place went to Roddy McKay IM of Cathcart Chess Club while Hugh Brechin of Edinburgh came third.

Stewarton Chess Club would like to thank Gordon Bennett and the other officials from the Bonnet Guild committee for their assistance in setting up and running the tournament again this year. Our sincere thanks also go to local company McCluskey Browne who donated the medals awarded during the prizegiving. We are also grateful to Robert and Mary the caretaker staff at the Youth Centre who so ably coped with the large numbers of players.

Our controllers again coped with all the problems and questions and incorrect result slips that lead to last minute changes in draws and we would like to thank them for all their hard work. Thanks to Alan Steel of our own Stewarton Chess Club and John McNicoll of Kilmarnock Chess Club and to Stephen Taylor and David Deary of Greenwood Chess Club who coped with the junior events.

The canteen staff managed to keep their cool in the kitchen and provided an excellent service through the day and our thanks go to Nan Kafka, Carolyn McNicoll and Agnes Hamilton for their work in keeping the players supplied with food and drinks throughout the day. Our special thanks go to Mrs Thomson, Mrs Grigor and Mrs Wright who provided such a splendid array of home baking.

Open section

First Calum MacQueen, Giffnock Chess Club

Second Roddy McKay, Cathcart

Third Hugh Brechin, Edinburgh

Best Ayrshire player Elliot Frew, Greenwood

Major section

First John McBride, Dunfermline

Second Stephen Hamilton, Ayr

Third Crawford Macnab, Edinburgh Civil Service

Fourth Rory Chan, Bishopbriggs

Grading prizes Michael Boyd, Greenwood and Donald Wilson, Grangemouth

Best Ayrshire players Jim Armour Kilmarnock and John Calder Troon

Minor section

First Clement Sreeves, Concord

Second Andrew McClement, Campbelltown

Third equal Brendan Carlin of Dalmuir, Jim Johnston of East Kilbride ,

Jason Lai of St Aloysius College and Stuart MacQueen of Bishopton

Grading prizes Daniel Rocks of Glasgow, Lawrence Latta of Hamilton

and Daniel Thomas of Giffnock

Best Ayrshire player Douglas Browning of Kilmarnock

Best female player Lynsey Shovlin of Perth

Under 14 section

First Ali Roy of Carrick

Second Sarah Speir of Giffnock

Third James Gilmour of Greenwood

Ali Roy also wins the Ayrshire Chess Association Under 14 Championship and the Ayrshire Girls Under 14 trophy.

Under 12 section

First Peter Devenny, Giffnock

Second Alice Lampard Carrick

Third Robert Childs, Hamilton

Fourth Gerald Chan, St Aloysius Primary, Glasgow

Fifth Kieren Gibson, Glebe Primary, Irvine

Best ungraded players Peter Rainey of Bishopton and Kieran O'Donnell Airdrie

Best Ayrshire player Roy Walker of Glebe

Best Stewarton players Chris Miller and Iain McDonald

Best female players Michelle Latter, Morven Petrie and Charlotte Childs all Hamilton

Alice Lampard wins both the Ayrshire Primary Championship and the Ayrshire Primary Girls Championship.

Family prizes were won by the MacQueen of Giffnock (Andrew, Calum and Stuart - father/sons), the Childs family of Hamilton (Kevin, Rebecca, Robert & Charlotte - father/son/daughters), the Petrie family from Hamilton (Fiona, Craig, Morven & Russell - mother/daughter/sons), the Chan brothers (Rory and Gerald), the Gibson brothers (Kieren and Ross), the Lampards (Stuart and Alice father/daughter) and the McClements from Campbelltown Bryan and Iain father/son.

Prepared by John Montgomery, Secretary, Stewarton Chess Club,

4 Barbeth Place, Girdle Toll, Irvine KA11 1QL, Telephone 01294-221486

please click the event headers for grading data

Home -   Congress Ads  -  Leagues  -  Grading  -  Chess Scotland Info  -  Schools  - Downloads  -  News  -  Links
Chess Scotland 2006