Back to Home Page

Ayrshire Congress

Ayr College

October 7-9, 2005

1st Colin McNab (Dundee) 4/5, 2nd Craig Thomson (Hamilton), 3rd Alan Grant (Cathcart)

1st Edward Ferry (Cambuslang), 2nd Jim Kleboe (Kilmarnock), 3rd= Kenny Malkin (Kilmarnock), Ian Marks (Cumbernauld), Bruce Harrold (Stonehaven), John Calder (Troon).

1st John McBride, 2nd Iain Campbell (Giffnock), 3rd equal Walter Pearson (Glenrothes)
3rd equal Ian Muir (Kilmarnock)
3rd equal Arthur McCurley (Prestwick)
3rd equal Alan Birnie (Irvine Porthead)

1st Ian McCulloch (Giffnock)
2nd equal David Cubitt (Wandering Dragons)
2nd equal Mike Chapman (Troon)

Junior Saturday
1st Michael Boyd (Greenwood)
2nd David Smith (Greenwood)
3rd Maryann McDonald (Quarryhill)

Primary Saturday
1st Ian McDonald (Quarryhill)
2nd Matthew Craven (Whitehirst Primary School Kilwinning)
3rd Iain McLaughlin (Renfrew)

Junior Sunday
1st Michael Boyd (Greenwood)
2nd equal Jamie Malkin (Kilmarnock)
2nd equal Craig McLaughlan (Greenwood)
2nd equal James Gilmour (Greenwood)

Primary Sunday
1st Ian McDonald (Quarryhill)
2nd Callum Dickson (Bishopton)
3rd Alice Lampard (Carrick)

Organised by Ayrshire Chess Association

The Ayrshire Congress was held from Friday 7th to Sunday 9th October 2005 in Ayr College , Dam Park, Ayr . The event attracted 107 players from as far apart as Aberdeen to Australia ok the Australian was staying in the UK. Nearly sixty of the players came from chess clubs and schools in Ayrshire with another nearly thirty from the Glasgow area. One family from Quarryhill in Aberdeen went home with three prizes between them.

The Premier section was aimed at the top titled players and attracted one of the top players in Scotland Grandmaster Colin McNab from Dundee who played to expectation and won the section on full points. Another top player Craig Thomson FM originally from Ayrshire but now staying in Edinburgh was tempted out of semi-retirement to also compete in the Premier section and finished in Second place behind Colin. Third place went to Alan Grant of Cathcart who is a regular on the playing circuit and a welcome visitor to all the Ayrshire chess tournaments.

In the Open section Edward Ferry from Cambuslang held off all competition to finish in First place with local stalwart Jim Kleboe from Kilmarnock Chess Club taking Second place. Third place was shared out in a four way tie between John Calder from Troon, Bruce Harrold from Stonehaven, Ian Marks from Cumbernauld and Kenny Malkin from Kilmarnock .

In the Major section twenty seven players competed with John McBride of Cardenden in Fife winning the event. Second place went to Iain Campbell of Giffnock while Third place was again shared between four players Alan Birnie of Irvine Porthead, Arthur McCurley of Prestwick, Ian Muir of Kilmarnock and Walter Pearson of Glenrothes.

In the Minor section Ian McCulloch of Giffnock won all his games to walk away with First prize while David Cubitt of the Wandering Dragons club in Edinburgh and Mike Chapman of Troon Chess Club shared second prize between them.

The Junior events were run as two separate one day tournaments on Saturday and Sunday with some players playing on both days, others opting for one or the other. On both days Michael Boyd of Greenwood won every single game and went home with both First place trophies. In the Saturday Junior event, David Smith of Greenwood came Second with Maryann McDonald of Quarryhill Aberdeen coming third. Rebecca Edge of Troon Chess Club was awarded a medal for performance. In the Sunday Junior event a four way tie for second place resulted in a tiebreak with Jamie Malkin of Kilmarnock coming second, Craig McLaughlan of Greenwood coming third and James Gilmour also of Greenwood coming fourth. Performance medals were given to Caitlin McCulloch of Giffnock and Cameron Gilmore of Greenwood .

The Primary events were also held as two separate one day tournaments on Saturday and Sunday. Again on both days the Primary events were won by the same player - Ian McDonald of Quarryhill Aberdeen won First place, followed in the Saturday event by Matthew Craven of Whitehirst Primary School Kilwinning in Second place. Third place went to Iain McLaughlin of Renfrew. Performance medals were awarded to Duncan Webb of Renfrew and Andrew Graham of West Kilbride . In the Sunday Primary event Second place was won by Callum Dickson of Bishopton, Third place by Alice Lampard of Carrick Chess Club and Aletia McCulloch of Giffnock was awarded a Performance medal.

There are always loads of people involved in setting up and running an event of this size and we would like to thank them all. The Association are extremely grateful to Ayr College for generously allowing us to hold the event in their campus and would like to thank Steven Farrell for his help in the booking of the event and the guys of the Buildings department were excellent in handling all the wee emergencies that happened one of the players was unwell and had a trip in an ambulance to Ayr Hospital he was kept in overnight and went home on Sunday morning. The ladies of the canteen coped admirably with the rush and flow of serving food all weekend.

Thanks also to Sam Collins of Chess Suppliers who ran the book stall over the weekend and no event can run without controllers and we would like to thank the guys who handled the whole weekend without too many mishaps and re-arranged draws. Donald Wilson from Grangemouth Chess Club, Alan Steel of Stewarton Chess Club and John McNicoll of Kilmarnock Chess Club ran the events in the New Building while Stephen Taylor of Greenwood Chess Club and Maureen Mathie of West Kilbride handled the junior events in the Main College building.

Prepared by John Montgomery, Secretary, Ayrshire Chess Association,

4 Barbeth Place, Girdle Toll, Irvine KA11 1QL, Telephone 01294-221486



Home -   Congress Ads  -  Leagues  -  Grading  -  Chess Scotland Info  -  Schools  - Downloads  -  News  -  Links
Chess Scotland 2005