Back to Home Page

Stewarton Bonnet Guild Chess Allegro 2005

June 12, 2005
And the Ayrshire Junior Championships

Organised by Stewarton Chess Club in Association with

the Stewarton Bonnet Guild and the Ayrshire Chess Association

Held on Sunday 12 th June 2005 in the Stewarton Annick Youth Centre, Stewarton. It was another great year with 121 people playing on the day. Once again we played host to the Ayrshire Junior Championships as part of our tournament and we were happy to send nearly forty players home with a prize from the tournament.


Nearly fifty of the entries came from Ayrshire clubs with another fifty from clubs in the Glasgow area. Other players hailed from as far afield as Dundee to Campletown, from Oban to Edinburgh, and Stirling, Thornhill, Perth, Grangemouth, Glenrothes and the Isle of Arran. Several groups of school children from West Kilbride Primary, from Bishopton Primary in Renfrew, from Whitehurst Park Primary in Kilwinning and from Glebe Primary in Irvine also attended and won a fair number of the prizes on offer.


The Open section finished with a clear winner Colin McNab GM (top seeded player in the event GM = Grandmaster) who adds his name for the third time to the trophy repeating his wins in 1999 and 2000. Patrick Coffey of Hamilton came second while Stephen Mannion IM from Paisley (who is an International Master and won the event in 2003 and 2004) shared third prize with Alan Tate from Edinburgh.


Stewarton Chess Club would like to thank John Elliott and the other officials from the Bonnet Guild committee for their assistance in setting up and running the tournament again this year. Our sincere thanks also go to local company McCluskey Browne who donated the medals awarded during the prizegiving. We are also grateful to Brian the caretaker of the Youth Centre who so ably coped with large numbers of players.


No event can run without controllers and we would like to thank the guys who have run the tournament for many years and coped with all the questions and problems raised by players. Thanks to Alan Steel of our own Stewarton Chess Club and John McNicoll of Kilmarnock Chess Club and to Stephen Taylor and David Deary of Greenwood Chess Club who so ably handle the junior events.


The canteen staff provided an excellent service through the day and our thanks go to Nan Kafka, David Montgomery and Agnes Hamilton for their sterling efforts in keeping the multitudes supplied with food and drinks throughout the day. Our thanks go to Mrs Thomson who provided such a splendid array of home baking.


Open section

First Colin McNab GM Dundee and Victoria Chess Club

Second Patrick Coffey Hamilton

Third equal Alan Tate, Wandering Dragons and Stephen Mannion IM Paisley

Grading prizes Duncan Walker Livingston and Mark Ainsworth Cumbernauld

Best Ayrshire player Kenny Malkin Kilmarnock


Major section

First Andrew MacQueen Giffnock

Second equal David Gillespie Crowwood and Charles Todd Arran

Grading prizes Calum MacQueen Bishopton, Nanning van Milken Thornhill,

Amy Officer Perth and Ian McGregor Bearsden

Best Ayrshire player Stephen Hamilton Ayr


Minor section

First James Cunningham Ardrossan

Second Natalie Donohue Livingston

Third James Todd Arran

Grading prizes Craig Petrie Hamilton, Jacqui Thomas Giffnock, John Shovlin Perth,

Andrew McClement Oban, James Montgomery Livingston

Best ungraded player Kevin Childs Hamilton

Best Ayrshire players Stuart Montgomery Prestwick & Scott Greenwood of Greenwood Academy


Under 14 section

First Michael Boyd Greenwood

Second Jamie Malkin Kilmarnock

Third equal Ian McCulloch Giffnock and Hayley Donohue Livingston


Michael Boyd also wins the Ayrshire Chess Association Under 14 Championship.


Under 12 section

First Matthew Craven Whitehurst Park Primary Kilwinning

Second Ali Roy Carrick

Third Calum Dickson Bishopton

Best ungraded player Robert Childs Hamilton

Best Ayrshire player Andrew Graham West Kilbride

Best Stewarton player David Gillespie Stewarton

Grading prize Andrew McLaughlan Bishopton


Matthew Craven wins the Ayrshire Primary Championship.


Family prizes were won by Andy & Calum MacQueen of Bishopton (father/son), Charles & James Todd of Arran (father/son), Kevin, Robert & Charlotte Childs of Hamilton (father/son/daughter), Phil, Jacqui, Daniel & Scott Thomas of Giffnock (father/mother/sons) and Allan, Fiona, Craig, Morven & Russell Petrie of Cathcart/Hamilton (father/mother/daughter/sons).


Prepared by John Montgomery, Secretary, Stewarton Chess Club,

4 Barbeth Place, Girdle Toll, Irvine KA11 1QL, Telephone 01294-221486

Home -   Congress Ads  -  Leagues  -  Grading  -  Chess Scotland Info  -  Schools  - Downloads  -  News  -  Links
Chess Scotland 2005