Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
An unusual incident
I am a bit confused as what the definition of an illegal move is. Douglas's opponent has effectively played two moves at once, which I know isn't allowed Smile Does that then mean that Douglas could have stopped the clocks and claimed the game?

On the ECForum we have Roger de Coverly quoting the FIDE rules

"A4 (b) would appear to cover it.

An illegal move is completed once the player has pressed his clock. If the arbiter observes this he shall declare the game lost by the player, provided the opponent has not made his next move. If the arbiter does not intervene, the opponent is entitled to claim a win, provided the opponent has not made his next move. However, the game is drawn if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves. If the opponent does not claim and the arbiter does not intervene, the illegal move shall stand and the game shall continue. Once the opponent has made his next move, an illegal move cannot be corrected unless this is agreed by the players without intervention of the arbiter."

Does that mean that the game should continue with the pawn on d5 unless the players decide otherwise?

Messages In This Thread

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)