Chess Scotland

The home of Chess in Scotland

Chess Scotland

The home of Chess in Scotland

Chess Scotland

The home of Chess in Scotland

Robert E Rough Cup 2019

July 2019: Congratulations to Rajkumar Anbu of Lenzie Junior Club who is the winner of the Robert Rough Cup for 2018-2019 season. The prize goes to the junior who overcomes the biggest adverse grading gap during the season. Rajkumar defeated a player 979 points higher than his own published grade.

2019 Top 10

2018 Top 10

2017 Top 10

2016 Top 10

2015 Top 10

2014 Top 10

Jan 2014: The late Robert E Rough of Inverness Chess club was a well known player in Scotland and further afield. In his local area Robert's efforts at promoting chess and encouraging young players in Inverness provided an opportunity for many to play in congresses and other competitions, thus introducing them to a hobby that they simply wouldn't have come across, if it wasn't for Robert.

Robert had great optimism about chess in the local area - his enthusiasm and vision brought the NEJCA tournament and the Inverness Congress to the City. His efforts in helping and assisting juniors were well known in the local area, and he was known throughout the chess playing world as someone who could put a smile on any player's face. Robert did everything he could to encourage and nurture talent and his influence will be felt across the national chess-playing community for a long time to come. Robert is remembered in Inverness with great fondness.

Robert’s friends in Inverness have donated a magnificent cup in his memory to be awarded to the junior in Scotland who causes the biggest "giant-killer" upset during the chess season. The first winner of the Robert E Rough cup will be announced shortly after the publication of the 2014-15 grading list later this year and will retain the cup for one year.

Leaderboard: The latest leaderboard is displayed on the right hand side of the home page just above the calendar.

Cup Criteria:

Only graded players J17 and younger will be included.
The player's published start season grade will be compared to the published start season grade of the opponent (no additions, 200 up or estimates used). Only main list wins will be considered - no allegro.

The player who overcomes the largest negative grading gap is the winner.

  Post Information

Posted on: 18-07-2019
Categories: News