Chess Scotland

The home of Chess in Scotland

Chess Scotland

The home of Chess in Scotland

Chess Scotland

The home of Chess in Scotland

2015 Ayr Chess Congress Prize Winners

Thank you to all players who took part in the 2015 Congress. The prize winners are listed below. For those winners who were unable to stay for the prize giving a cheque will be mailed out during this week commencing 31st May, 2015.

Next year's congress will take place on the late May Bank Holiday weekend, Friday May 27th to Sunday May 29th.

Accommodation rates at the Mercure for 2016 are -

Double or twin room at £87.00 per room

Family rooms at £97.00 per room.

Single room at £63.00 per room.

All players can book direct with Cheryl on 0844 815 9005 opt 3 quoting booking ref AYR270516.  This is the only method in which can guarantee these rates will be offered.


2015 Ayr Chess Congress Prize Winners


1st= Ubing Samuel Archibong (Grangemouth) - 4.5 - £125

FM CLement Sreeves (Edinburgh & Rhu)

3rd= IM Roddy M McKay (Cathcart) - 4 - £25

FM Neil M Berry (Edinburgh)

U1950 Grading= Mike Ridge (Edinburgh) - 3.5 - £8.50

Stephen Robinson (Ardrossan)

Chino Nwachukwu (London)

U1850 Grading= Lennart Koehn (E. Kilbride) - 2.5 - £12.50

James E Moreby (England)



1st Rosie Giulian (Giffnock) - 4.5 - £150

2nd= Monica Espinosa Cancino (Girvan) - 4 - £50

David M Gillespie (Greenwood))

Andrew MacQueen (Giffnock)

U1550 Grading= David A Potts  (Bellshill) - 3 - £12.50

                            Leston D'Costa (Bon Accord)

U1450 Grading= Vagif Ramazanov (Bon Accord) - 3 - £12.50

Andrew Ward (St Andrews)


1st= Kurt Moreby (England) - 4.5 - £125

Trevor R Blower (Barrow)

3rd= Tom Laing (Prestwick) - 3.5 - £10

Brain Millward (Ayr)

James Keegan (Ardrossan)

Chris Wan (Lenzie)

Mark J Smith (Edinburgh)

William A Hardwick ( Dumfries)

Peter J Doris (Bank of Scotland)

Derek W Coope (Oban)

U1200 Grading Prize - Incorporated within 3rd= prizes.

U950 Grading Prize= Marco D'Alessio (Lenzie) - 2.5 - £6.50

Sarah E Smith (Ayr)

James Hartman (Tiger Cubs)

Jonathan McKay ( North Juniors)

Iain Fraser Junior Cup

1st - Sarah E Smith (Ayr) - £75

2nd - Tom Laing (Prestwick) - £50

3rd - Monica Espinosa Cancino (Girvan) - £25

Ali Roy Cup

Winner - Sarah E Smith (Ayr) - £50

Senior Cup

Winner - IM Roddy M McKay (Cathcart) - £50

West of Scotland Champions

Open - FM CLement Sreeves (Rhu)

U1850 - Rosie Giulian (Giffnock)

U1450 - Tom Laing (Prestwick)

  Post Information

Posted on: 26-05-2015
Categories: News