Back to Home Page


Edinburgh Congress

March 28-30, 2008
George Heriot's
Report by Jim Wallace

2007 was a very successful year as far as the numbers went. Unfortunately, this was not to be repeated in 2008. Numbers dropped from 262 players down to 212, a reduction to more in line with the 2006 level. Premier 43, Challengers 45, Major 42, Bishops 36 and Knights 46.

More than 70 young players competed in the Chess Scotland 2008 Scottish Schools Individual Championships. The event was sponsored by the Association of Certified Public Accountants. David Shenton is the new Scottish under 18 champion.

Jim Fisher of Chess and Bridge Ltd ran the bookstall and the quality of the bookstall, including software was excellent.

A last minute hitch meant 6 arbiters rather than the usual 5 but all were their usual professional standard, Thanks to Alex MacFarlane, Lara Barnes, Donald Wilson, Andy Howie, Trevor Davis and Rod Tweedie.

Thanks also to the members of the Council and other volunteers who helped to set the hall up on Friday 28 March 2008.  George Anderson for taking the entries, preparing the leader boards, pairing cards, table numbers as well as processing the grading results.  Eddie Gillespie and Terry Purkins for helping with the prize giving.  Jeremy Hughes and his team on behalf of Chess Scotland for organizing the Scottish Schools Individual Championships.


Premier: 1st Colin Mcnab (Dundee & Victoria), 5/5pts, £500 2nd = David Findlay (Dundee & Victoria), Keti Arakhamia-Grant (Edinburgh West), Richard Birkett (Inverness) David Eggleston (England) 4/5 £65 each;

Grading Prize U2050= Andrew Green (Edinburgh), Thomas Weiss (Lasswade) 3.5/5pts, £25 each;

Grading Prize U1854= Sai Kong Tsang (Cathcart), Graham Williamson (Sandy Bells), Lloyd Hill (England), Manibar Periasamy Manjula (England) 2.5/5pts £15;

U18: Andrew Green (Edinburgh), 3.5/5pts, £30 Evening News Cup plus a chess book donated by Chess and Bridge Ltd.

Challengers: 1st = Nicholas Barnaby (England), Ian Mason (Grangemouth) 4.5/5pts £110 each;

Grading Prize Antonio Moneva-Jordan (England) 4/5pts, £30;

Major: 1st David Stewart (Bank of Scotland) 4.5/5pts, £150;

2nd = Gerrard Oswald (Sandy Bells), John SR Smith (Edinburgh), Damien Bullen (Wandering Dragons),     4/5 pts £45;

Grading Prize = Stuart Blyth (Glenrothes), Walter Pearson (Pentland Hills), Arthur Mullholland (Hamilton), Callum Vipond (Tiger Cubs) James Mooney (Cathcart) 3/5pts £6.00 each.

Bishops: 1st = Alan Armstrong (Kelso), Alistair Small (Musselburgh), Timothy Allen (England), Kenneth Aiston (Broxburn), Alex Stewart (Bon Accord) 4/5pts £45 each;

Grading Prize = William Harkins (Benarty), Bryan O'Rourke (Glenrothes), Duncan Hall (Aberdeen Teachers), Michael Gilroy (Edinburgh Civil Service) 3/5pts   £8 each;

Knights: 1st Derek Raffan (Grangemouth) 5/5pts £150;

2 nd = Norman Grant (Bon Accord), Scott Browning (Musselburgh), Roland Fraser ( Paisley), Angus Ruthven (Corstorphine), David Watson (Corstorphine) 4/5pts, £15 each;

Grading Prize Ken Main (Bank of Scotland) 3.5/5pts £30;

Prize Draw - The winning move Bxa4: Walter Pearson (Pentland Hills). £30;                                                   

Giant Killing Prize: Alexander Armstrong (Kelso) grade 886 defeated a player 413 points above him. £30;

Best Game Prize : David Eggleston for his win against Keti Arakhamia-Grant (Edinburgh West) on board 1 in round 3. £30; Judged by Geoff Chandler of Chandler Cornered at

Blunder or Swindle Prize: In the Bishops event, James Turner (Bank of Scotland) resigned in a winning position against Anthony Akers (Lasswade). The players agreed to share the £10 prize donated and judged by Geoff Chandler.

2008 Scottish Schools Championship on March 30 was also held in George Heriot's read report (pdf)


Home -   Congress Ads  -  Leagues  -  Grading  -  Chess Scotland Info  -  Schools  - Downloads  -  News  -  Links
Chess Scotland 2008