Scottish Championship 1897

The championship was played at the Glasgow Chess Club, commencing Friday, April 16th.

There were eleven players in the main tournament:-
J. McGrouther, G.A. Thomson, Sheriff Spens, J.D. Chambers, J. Borthwick, D. Forsyth, D.Y. Mills, W.N. Paton, J.M. Finlayson, A.B. Law and Dr R.C. Macdonald. (Note: A future Prime Minister of participated - Andrew Bonar Law.)

D.Y. Mills won for the sixth time, scoring 9 points from his 10 games, losing only to Paton.

From the British Chess Magazine 1897, p 174:

From The Scotsman, Thursday 22nd April 1897, page 9. (Crosstable)


It was quite usual for newspapers to present the crosstable in this fashion, rather than show the names in the order of finishing.

Compiled by
Alan McGowan