Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Luke Barker - MacAulay and Co
Luke Barker's interview and coaching session on the BBC Radio Scotland programme MacAulay and Co, yesterday, can be heard here. If this link does not work with your PC, the programme which was broadcast on 14 April is available on BBC for 7 days. If you listen via the BBC link, the chess part starts at around 01:19:16.

Well done Luke for promoting chess on radio as well as your coaching work.
Thanks Mr Steinitz.

The coaching went well, which was tricky as wasn't sure what level they were beforehand, and have had little experience of absolute beginners. Plus I was a bit nervous about the radio bit! Smile

It worked quite well though, I was able to quickly go through the pieces and setup and get across the objctive of the game. Then reinforced this with a couple of mini games of Q vs 8 pawns and 2 knights vs a King to show how you can try to capture the king.

Never been on the radio before and perhaps over desperate not to say anything stupid lol Smile Freds question about the king on the left (?) was a bit confusing as the board had been put jsut then on my left and I usually think about it more in terms of king on a black square etc, but it was amusing at least haha! Not sure they really got I was merely a volunteer but they were friendly and interested questions, which is the kind of support chess needs media-wise.

I wanted to say more on the Sport status that chess needs (at least in features if not in name) to get more funding but didn't quite manage to express that. Maybe next time!

Was good fun anyway and the BBC offices are great.
I have been on Fred's show in the past & you have to be swift to sneak in any extra bits you want to put across but I have to admit I was shouting at the radio 'tell them the queen sits on the same colour she is' apart from anything else the juniors seem to grasp that